Phone Number: 313-881-6565

The Village of Grosse Pointe Shores, A Michigan City operates under a basic "Manager Plan", with the City Manager overseeing the day-to-day operation of the community. The affairs of the City are governed by an elected Council composed of a Mayor, and six Council Members.   The City Clerk and City Treasurer are appointed by the Council.



City Officials

Ted J. Kedzierski 

Council Members 

John Seago

       Danielle Gehlert      

      Robert Barrette     

Donn Schroder 

Sandra Cavataio

John Dakmak

City Administrators

 City Manager
Stephen Poloni

City Clerk
Bruce Nichols 

Director of Public Safety
Kenneth Werenski

Director of Public Works
Michael Way

 Community Liaisons, Advisory Committees & Commissions

 Election Commission

Bruce Nichols, City Clerk
Robert Barrette, Liaison
Vito Cusenza

Public Works & Infrastructure Liaison
Robert Barrette 

 Municipal Buildings Liaison
Robert Barrette

Public Safety Liaison
Ted J. Kedzierski 

 Harbor  Committee


Daniel Ritter

John Seago, Liaison

Karl Kratz

Donn Schroder 

Michelle Ramsdell 

                                 Ron Sables

Dennis D'Hondt

Patrick Clark

 Tom Krolczyk, Harbor Master




Park  Committee
 - Chairperson
Donn Schroder - Liaison
Tom Mellos
Donna Zade,William Raffoul

Marlene Smith, Brett Marshall

Dan Fleming, Jennifer Serra

 Public Relations Liaison
Danielle Gehlert

Grosse Pointes/Clinton Refuse Disposal Authority
Michael Way, Delegate 

 Council Liaison to Beautification Advisory Committee
John Seago

 Council Liaison to GPS Improvement Foundation
Danielle Gehlert

Planning Commission

 Mary Matuja, Chair

Gary Mitchell, Comm. 

Patrick McCarroll, Secretary. 

 Greg DeMars Comm. 

Pat Chasteen, Comm.  

John Dakmak

 Ted J. Kedzierski, Mayor

Gary Gula, Comm.

Employee Retirement System (Pension Commission)

Bruce Campbell, Chair 

Charles Ruifrok, Commissioner 

Michael Way, Emp. Comm. 

Scott Rohr, DPS Emp. Comm. 

Ted J. Kedzierski, Mayor 

Stephen Poloni, City Manager

Board of Review Members

 John Lizza, Chair 


Janice Pemberton 

Marlene Smith 

 Paul Thursam

Kim Schmidt, Alt. 

Beautification Advisory Committee

 Helen Bai, Chair

John Seago, Liason 

Mary Ellen Dakmak 

Elaine Malcoun 

Dianne O'Keefe 

Gerrie Paddock 

Elly Sattler 


Monica Silverston 

Anne Stricker 

Madhavi Kanneganti

Rachelle VanHollebeke 

 Mickey Wrona

Bonnie Krueger 

Victoria Boyce

Mary Matuja, GPSIF Rep. 

Mary Nichols

John Pollick 

                                               Bobbie Baltz  

GPS Improvement Foundation Board of Trustees

Dan Fleming, President 

 Vice President 

Karl Tech, Treasurer 

Rob Sattler, Secretary 

Danielle Gehlert, Liason

GPS Tree Board Members

Brett Marshall, GPS Forester, Chair 

Helen Bai, Beautification Chair  

Robert Squiers, GPSIF  

Donn Schroder

 Harold Michaux, Grounds Supervisor 

Lynn Michaux, Secretary 

Vicky Boyce, Member 

Michael Way, DPW Director 

                              Paul Manion  

Finance Committee

Sandra Cavataio

Robert Barrette

Stephen Poloni

Ted J. Kedzierski 

       Charles Ruifrok Resident Rep.

                                       John Dakmak             
Candice Giles- Finance Director  




Note:  The Mayor and Manager are ex officio members of all City boards, committees and commissions.

About Grosse Pointe Shores

The Village of Grosse Pointe Shores, A Michigan City, is located several miles north of Detroit, Michigan.  Most of the city is located within  Wayne County with the small northern portion located within Macomb County.

Grosse Pointe Shores is the smallest of the five Grosse Pointe communities occupying 1.1 square miles of land and 18.1 square miles of Lake St. Clair waters.  Grosse Pointe Shores has the longest shoreline of the Grosse Pointe communities, making it an especially attractive place to live.